Women’s History Network Community History Prize 2017

Sponsored by the History Press

Twenty two entries were received for the WHN Community History Prize 2017, nine of which were shortlisted for final consideration by the Panel.

The field was wide this year, with entries submitted for the first time by organisations from France and Northern Ireland.  Scotland, England and Wales were well represented, and we received another excellent entry from Glasgow Women’s Library, the 4th in as many years.…

Women’s History Scotland Essay Prize


For a new essay in Scottish women’s or gender history – deadline 19th December 2016

Women’s History Scotland awards a bi-annual prize of £100 for a new essay in the field of Scottish women’s and/or gender history.

The prize was established in 2002 to celebrate the work of Leah Leneman, one of the foremost historians of women in Scotland. A trailblazer for women’s history in Scotland, she produced innovative studies on the women’s suffrage movement, on women in medicine, and on sexuality and divorce in the early modern and modern periods.

Women’s History Scotland wishes to acknowledge the important …

Women’s History Network Community Prize entries 2016

Below are images and descriptions of the 15 entries to the 2016 Women’s History Network Community Prize.  The winners will be revealed at the WHN Conference in September.

Click on the images to see the slide show (and then click in the ‘i’ symbol to see descriptions for each image.)

Community History Prize 2016 – Call for Entries

An annual £500 prize for a Community History Project which has led to a documentary, pamphlet, book, exhibition, artefact or event completed in the year before 31st May 2016. Please see details below. It is essential that entries should be submitted on the correct form and emailed to the WHN as indicated. Download the form here: WHN Community Prize Application 2016

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 10.21.21

Community History Prize 2015 prizewinner

Maggie Andrews with Community History Prize winner Ruth Beazley for Triangle Mill Sisters

Maggie Andrews with Community History Prize winner Ruth Beazley for Triangle Mill Sisters

There were twenty-three wonderful competitors for the Community History Prize which was won by Ruth Beazley who, with some support from local libraries, undertook a project entitled Triangle Mill Sisters. The focus of the project was the 100 women mill workers who lived in a hostel at Triangle, near Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire, between the 1920s and 1970s. The project began with a unique collection of 200 photographs of this community of women, which has formed the basis of displays, interviews and events as well as archival …